My|Practical|Magic|Inspired|Apartment|-|Part|1

So I’ve scoured both Pinterest and my creative inner-self to come up with some inspired decorating ideas kind of inspired by the movie Practical Magic. There are a bunch of other inspirations thrown in, i.e,, Victorian, cottage, French country, etc., but that’s the backbone. You may or may not be able to “see” where that style comes in based on what I’m sharing, but for me, it’s there. 🙂

I don’t have an attachment off of my kitchen for a conservatory, but I do have a really big window in my living room begging for some life… So I decided to incorporate hanging plants to pull in the conservatory feel… More to come, but this is what I’ve done so far:

photo 3 (1) photo 4 (1)

I envision larger hanging terrariums from the ceiling and a shabby chic chandelier eventually (Pinterest inspired, naturally).

I found this great chest of drawers on Craigslist a while back, and fell in love with it despite its ugly face and metal replacement handles. It had this amazing pull-out card table though…and its energy just spoke to me. It’s crazy how much I connect with the wood of the tree it was made from! So I gave it a chalk paint makeover and Modge Podge’d the inside of the drawers with clearance romance novel pages. I really love it now!

photo 2 (2)

photo 3 (2)

I adore the tall walls in my apartment, but when it came to the kitchen, I had all this empty space to fill on top of the cabinets. I really wasn’t into the silk plant or huge vase look to fill…so I decided to incorporate Victorian style and put single electric candles all around the top. I added wooden-framed mirrors to both reflect the light and give a more “open” look:

photo 1 (2)

Everything is a work in progress (apothecary bathroom, anyone?), but I just wanted to share what I’ve done so far!

– Verbena

Leave a Reply

